Where did Cristiano Ronaldo finish in Ballon d’Or 2023 vote? Final result, Al Nassr star’s all-time finishes

Where did Cristiano Ronaldo finish in Ballon d'Or 2023 vote? Final result, Al Nassr star's all-time finishes

Lionel Messi won a record-extending eighth Ballon d’Or during the 2023 awards ceremony in Paris on October 30.

His sensational Qatar World Cup win with Argentina was enough for the Inter Miami star to finish above Manchester City’s striker sensation Erling Haaland in the vote.

Messi also won the Ligue 1 title with Paris Saint-Germain before he left in the summer for David Beckham’s MLS club. 

Cristiano Ronaldo received 19 consecutive Ballon d’Or nominations and found his way onto the shortlist every single year from the age of 19 through to 37. However, his total number of wins is now three behind that of his long-time rival.

The one thing the Portuguese star still has over Messi is the fact that he has won the Puskas Award, a trophy given to the male or female player judged to have scored the most aesthetically significant, or “most beautiful”, goal of the calendar year.

The Sporting News looks at where Ronaldo finished in the 2023 Ballon d’Or vote.

Cristiano Ronaldo Ballon d’Or finishes

Cristiano Ronaldo moved to Al Nassr to play in the Saudi Pro League just weeks after his Portugal side were knocked out of the Qatar World Cup. He was, however, still eligible for the 2023 prize because he had played some matches for Manchester United early in 2022/23.

Ronaldo has scored 34 goals in 39 matches for the Saudi team and led Al Nassr to their first Arab Club Champions Cup thanks to a brace in the final against rivals Al Hilal.

However, players based at non-European teams are not eligible to win the Ballon d’Or, so those achievements have not counted towards his chances of winning this year. And, since his performances for United were not enough to warrant inclusion, he was missed off the 30-man Ballon d’Or shortlist for the first time since 2003.

Cristiano Ronaldo all-time Ballon d’Or finishes


In 2020, the Ballon d’Or was was cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Cristiano Ronaldo did not feature on the 30-man Ballon d’Or shortlist in 2023.

Who has won the most Ballon d’Ors?

RankPlayerBallon d’OrwinsYears won
1.Lionel Messi82009, 2010, 2011, 2012,2015, 2019, 2021, 2023
2.Cristiano Ronaldo52008, 2013, 2014, 2016,2017
3.Michel Platini31983, 1984, 1985
Johan Cruyff31971, 1973, 1974
Marco van Basten31988, 1989, 1992
6.Franz Beckenbauer21972, 1976
Ronaldo21997, 2002
Alfredo Di Stefano21957, 1959
Kevin Keegan21978, 1979
Karl-Heinz Rummenigge21980, 1981

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *